The PhD in Physics is settled at the Department of Physics "Ettore Pancini" of the University of Naples "Federico II" (which is one of the largest research Universities in Italy, and the oldest public University in the World, dated since 1224). It is based in the Department of Physics of the University, but with wide collaborations with several research institutes like INFN, CNR-SPIN and INAF.

The overall scientific community amounts to more than 150 faculty people, almost 100 scientists of the above mentioned research institutes, and many fellows, post-docs and other research assistants. The graduate students are more than 40, in the average, per year. In the last years, about 20-30% of the admitted graduate and PhD students are non-Italian.

The research subjects at Department and collaborating institutes cover almost all topics of physics (theoretical, nuclear, sub-nuclear, matter physics, astrophysics, geophysics, biophysics, applied physics, etc.), and in some cases interdisciplinary subjects. For further details, we suggest surfing the web sites of the Department and Institutes given above.

Almost all the PhD students conclude successfully their studies in the standard three-year duration of the program (a master's degree is required for admission) and therefore obtains the PhD degree. In order to achieve the PhD, research results have to be published in peer reviewed international scientific journals.


Prof. Salvatore Capozziello (coordinator)

Mr. Guido Celentano (secretary) or